Tiny House Dreaming

Some of you may be wondering what a tiny house is. Some of you may already know but want more information. Well I hope to show that you’ve come to the right place! I will be uploading lots of useful information regarding the tiny house movement, trailers, shells, comparisons, financial breakdowns, and more. But for now, let me tell you a little about myself…

My name is Rachel. I am 29 years old. I live in Pittsburgh, PA and I always have. I never thought I was much of the traveling type until a few years ago when I got on my first plane. (Yes, it was just a few short years ago that I first stepped foot on a plane. Crazy, I know.) I began seeing how small the world really is and yearned to travel more. However, it’s a little difficult to afford such extravagances when you live alone and pay rent alone. I began downsizing my life and I’m proud to say I’ve gotten my bills down as low as they can possibly go. (More on that in a later post!) Now, on the brink of turning 30, you may say I’m having a third-life crisis. I have two degrees, three cats, two jobs, and I’m going nowhere. I like my job(s) and I love my co-workers, and I definitely earn a livable wage at EITHER one of my jobs. But I want more. I want to live in a place where my downstairs neighbor doesn’t ring the doorbell SIX TIMES for me to turn up the heat because he’s cold. I want to own a home so I can garden and lounge outside and make improvements and have people over. So I began my house-hunt.

Then I did the math. I was crushed. To purchase a relatively cheap $100,000 home in my desired area, I’d definitely have to be a landlord or get married. Since one isn’t appealing to me and the other is, at best, far in the future, I had to come up with a new plan. I could a.) rent the rest of my life, b.) become a landlord anyway, c.) move back in with my parents until the cows came home, or d.) dive head-first into a more sustainable lifestyle. Enter: tiny houses.

It didn’t take long for me to get excited about tiny houses. (After all, hadn’t I always wanted a tree house or a fort?!) The options available to me were vast and at first it was overwhelming, but it only took a little bit of research to find my footing. In the beginning I’d planned to build the whole thing myself, from the trailer up. Then reality sunk in… I realized that I’d never so much as built a shelf from scratch; how was I going to build a house?! So I found a builder (well, actually, he found me) and together we’ve embarked on this journey together. Mark, my builder, is building the shell of my tiny house then I’m going to finish the interior. I’ll still need a little help from my friends and family, but this is a much more attainable dream now!

In the coming days and weeks I’ll be posting lots of things as my build gets going – my plans, my budget, my power point (because anyone with parents like mine NEEDS a convincing argument…), and my ideas. Hopefully you’ll enjoy taking this journey with me!

3 thoughts on “Tiny House Dreaming

  1. We sold everything back on the mainland and built a tiny house here in Hawaii. We are off grid and living the dream. It was 100 times easier than we ever could have imagined it would be!

    ~Aloha~

    Like

Leave a Reply

