..there were some major setbacks this weekend.

Most importantly, my builder had some unexpected things come up and he was not able to deliver my THOW shell on Sunday. We are rescheduled for this coming weekend, on Easter Sunday to be exact. And that turned out to be all well and good considering what happened Saturday night…

As most of you know I have been working two jobs since November to try to save for my Tiny House. As some of you know, I have been working 70-80 hours/week to save as much as possible before the THOW arrives. As a few of you know, 80 hours/week is my cut-off for losing my mind. I need at least one day off a week to rest and recoup.

There was no resting or recouping this Sunday. Only anger, a sense of betrayal, and the ensuing depression.

My car was broken into at some point Saturday night. All of my tips from Friday were stolen. The money was hidden in my car as I was going to deposit it that night after work. I checked it between 4:00-5:00PM when there was a slight lull in my shift.

Money-Flying-Out-Window.png

When I came out after midnight (after having been there since 9:30AM), I went in my car to change my shirt and have one post-shift drink. That’s when I noticed the glass in the back of my car. Nothing else was stolen even though my purse was in my car. All of my debit cards, credit cards, and keys were still there. The only thing missing was my cash.

We called the police and they say they’re going to pull the camera footage from neighboring businesses. They say they’re going to look for this guy. They say with any luck they’ll find something in the footage. They say, they say, they say. I’ve had my car broken into before. I know how this works. I’m out the money the thief stole as well as the money to fix the broken window. The person won’t get caught and, since I think it someone I work with at the restaurant, I have to either quit or feel uncomfortable for the rest of my time there.

Now I usually work Monday thru Friday (8:00-4:30) at my day job. I then work Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday nights and all day Saturday. I have one bank account where my main job’s paycheck is deposited and another just for my tips and other income. This helps me to keep things straight and not spend what I’m making at either job.

As of Thursday when I updated my budget, I only needed about $65 to hit my income goal for the restaurant this month. Then I made $315 on Friday night, which is a very large amount of money for 7 hours or so of work. One of my regulars gave me a very generous tip for which I was beyond grateful, and all because he sees me working hard and wants to help me achieve my goals. He tells me this every time he sees me. It is encouraging.

Not only has this thief robbed me, but he has robbed others of their good intentions toward me and my life. He has robbed me of my sense of security and made me more than a little vexed with my car. He’s robbed me of the $315 in hard-earned tips and the $300+ it will cost to fix the window he broke.

For the record, if you ever have to break into your SUV, the vent window is the most expensive window to break. This isn’t a picture of my car but another one similar to it, and I’ve circled the vent window in red:

100_1826.jpg

Even though it is the smallest window, it is permanent and considered part of the door, so it must be sealed differently. For my SUV with the privacy tint, I got quotes ranging from $305-$499 for this window alone. Never break this window if you can avoid it.

Now I’ve said before that I don’t want to ask anyone for money for my Tiny House project because I am fully capable of doing this alone. I can work hard for this and wear my body out every week until I have everything paid for. I can do whatever it takes. But this was such a blow, both mentally and financially.

For this reason, I’ve decided for the first time to ask for a little bit of help. I have to write two very big checks in the next week (one for the down payment on my land the other for the remaining balance for my THOW shell) and this $600+ swing is coming at exactly the wrong time. If you can, please considering sending just a few dollars to help me recoup this loss. It would be more appreciated than you know.

Capture.PNG
Go to: http://www.gofundme.com/rachelsbrokenjeep to help me recoup my THOW money. Anything is appreciated!

Here is my GoFundMe link. Click here: Bum Thief Broke My Jeep Window fund or go to: https://www.gofundme.com/rachelsbrokenjeep. PLEASE share it as well. I am not asking for more than I lost in this fiasco. Thank you all for your continued love and support.

 

5d5fccdbdd7a5702edf10f88444d0f6c

An extra special thank you to those who have already helped me deal with all of this over the past weekend. Thank you to those who drank with me afterward to numb myself, let me crash with you, taped my window up like surgeons, and continued to text me to make sure I was okay. You are wonderful friends and you know who you are. I won’t embarrass you by calling you out by name, but I owe you more than you know. Thank you.

5 thoughts on “It was all going well until…

  1. How I wish I could help you!! We have our own GoFundMe account going for Nick’s cancer treatments so money is unbelievably tight for us. I’m so sorry to hear this happened to you. It is only money and YOU WERE NOT HURT!!!! That’s most important.

    Like

    1. True, no one was hurt. I have had some thoughts that I may write about later or tomorrow, but for now this post at least explains what happened. Thank you for your thoughts! Please let me know if there is ever anything that you need!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know you’re short on time, but you can probably get the right size of glass on ebay and put it in yourself. There are tons of such videos on YouTube.

    I don’t know what year Jeep Patriot you have, but this will give you a start:

    http://www.ebay.com/sch/Auto-Glass-/33684/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=jeep+patriot+door+window&_vxp=mtr

    Do you really want to tarnish the image of independence and self-sufficiency you’ve built up by paying someone else to do this?

    You could take a day off with what you’ll save. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

