So as you all know, a large part of my Tiny House journey has been about finding my way financially in life. My ultimate goal is to live on the income from one job without sacrificing things that are important to me. I don’t want to have to give up all of my worldly possessions to live in a huge empty house, right?

So I have been keeping track of the things I’ve bought so far for Tilly. I’m going to give you a run-down of what I’ve gotten so far as well as costs associated and pictures, if I have them.

KitchenSo here is what I’ve spent on my kitchen so far. I’m not completely done, but there are some amazing things to note here!

I got some items for FREE! I got my cabinets and countertop from a friend who was tearing out his kitchen.

Nearly everything else I’ve bought so far has come from Craigslist or eBay. I negotiated WAY more than I could at a big box store or even some specialty shops. I still have a couple of big appliances to get, but this is a great start!

I had to make a really painful decision regarding my appliances. I bought a beautiful stove and microwave set from my friend but ultimately they were just too big. I had to sell them and settle on smaller appliances. I’ve decided my best bet now is to go with a cooktop and large toaster oven rather than a traditional range.

Living Room

 

Next up is the living room… Originally I wanted to purchase a brand new couch from Ikea immediately. It has a chaise lounge and pulls out into a full queen mattress for company. But after crunching some numbers I decided to wait. I’m going to keep my almost-new sofa a while longer and use an old brown leather ottoman as a table/footrest.

I’ve been searching Craigslist for a couple of months now and I bargain for everything I want. For example, I got two antique sconces for just $15 after they were originally listed for $65. When I got there to pick them up I realized what bad shape they were in and he just wanted rid of them. SCORE! I also picked up free white shelves/cubbies from my old job and a brand new ceiling fan (with a remote) for $40.

I purchased some plywood to build a desk/table and I’ll jazz it up with some stain and metal details. I also bought a brand new fireplace from Wayfair when it was 20% off.

Change-quotes-pictures

So many of my plans changed from my original bathroom layout. In fact, most ALL of my layout has changed. More on that later. But for the purpose of this financial post, I must address the bathroom. I nixed the idea of a smaller-than-normal shower and opted for a smaller-than-average bathtub. How much smaller you ask? It’s 46″ long. Here it is:

Capture.PNG

Bathroom

I picked this pretty puppy up on Craigslist brand new for $125. As it turns out there is a local warehouse that gets lots of run-off from Home Depot. While I was there I also picked up an American Standard toilet, the most beautiful vanity light (below), a kitchen faucet (also below), and a sink. Now I’m returning the sink in order to get my dream antique sink (below), but it was still a great find!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now for the big category. This last category includes everything from exterior stain to my water heater to my contractor who’s doing the electrical and plumbing installations.

etc2

 

The items in red are items that I’ve budgeted for but haven’t bought yet. Since the plumbing and electrical are set to be done by the end of this weekend and the insulation is next, there’s no sense in buying the walls, ceiling, and flooring until I’m ready.

The big ticket item on this list is my radiant heat floors from Thermosoft. I couldn’t be more pleased with the experience thus far! I wasn’t sure exactly what I needed to I called their Customer Service. They had me send them a layout of my floorplan so they could work up a quote for me. The representative called 4 or 5 times to get it all right and still got me a quote the same day! The price above got me my heated floors, underlayment, thermostat, and extra floor sensor. As if that wasn’t enough shipping was free!

So there you have it. I’m trying to be as frugal as possible so as not to break the bank. I took a pay cut to work for a local non-profit and I love my new job. I am also only working on job right now, so money is tight. I will pick up a second job again soon, but for now I’m just enjoying my summer with Tilly.

tumblr_m7uzi9OHRk1r6mp88o1_500

One thought on “Financial freedom?

Leave a Reply

